Tutorial with Jonathan Kearney (4)

On Monday I had a tutorial with Jonathan, it seemed ages since my last tutorial. June 2015? A lot of water has passed under the bridge since the tutorial with Gareth. In our chat on Monday I managed to get a lot of things off my chest, clear the air, chip in with a few meaningless gripes but more importantly, collect invaluable direction and a few pointers.

When discussing my progress and where I’d like to take the project, as usual, I begin to mumble something and my hopeless articulation begins to take a zigzag trajectory. However, luckily for me, Jonathan was born with a sixth sense so he could decipher my cloudy meaning. It was suggested, and I agree, that I shouldn’t be too restrictive in my practice as process is the key. ‘Don’t think final package yet, you still have a while to experiment further and continue with the process’ or words to that effect. That was encouraging news, though I’m still concerned with the nebulous term, ‘a resolved project’ This term has been swimming around in my thoughts since it was mentioned in our last Skype session a few weeks back. After bringing it up in the tutorial, now on reflection, I’m assuming that ‘resolved’ is taking the project to the point where a comprehensive evaluation can be made yet the artwork can still be on going. Mmmm, well, that’s how I’m reading it.

Moving on, we also discussed the audio and my decision to veto the idea of using a voice-over for the project. Rationale: When considering audiencing, if I were to employ an English speaking voice-over, the ramifications could result in some ambiguity or as I put it, nuance issues surrounding ‘spoken language’ and that a kind of play without words or vernacular foley  would reach a wider audience. Jonathan countered my remarks which later made me consider on reflection, what is interpreted by some can have an altogether a totally divergent interpretation by others. The following comments made  by Jonathan, Ed and Gareth from my Unit 1 Assessment feedback acted as a catalyst for our discussion on the aspect of sound:

‘ There is some promise in your miniatures, short films with sound work, they are mini vignettes eg – Superimposing & Performativity 2015. You have clearly gained an interest in and some facility with audio production, although it might be good to get hold of a digital recorder such as a Zoom H1 and start recording your own material. This is of course more challenging than using material from Freesound.org, but it would add a greater originality to your audio work. Rather then being too explicit with engaging horror the soundscapes more interesting — human observation is more interesting – soundscapes can give them another meaning’

‘The short film experiments you have made are interesting and for Unit 2 it is recommended that you create these in quantity. This will give you a significant corpus of material that you can curate in a number of ways for the final MA show, either as simultaneous multi-screen display or as edited montages (i.e. temporally montaged as a linear sequence) of material’

 

 

This entry was posted in Tutorials. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Tutorial with Jonathan Kearney (4)

  1. Thanks, Pete! Hope all is hunky-dory with you

    Like

Leave a Reply

