Public Information Film Project: Contextual Research Notes

CONTEXTUAL NOTES FROM RESEARCH

 

“A new medium is never an additional one”

McLuhan (Understanding Media)

 

“All reading is multi-sensory”  Crucial Link: “The sensory-motor experience of the materiality” of written work and “the cognitive processing of the text content”

Anne Mangen

 

HYPERLINKS

“Hyperlinks alter our experience of media. The hyperlinks are designed to grab our attention. Their value as navigation tools is inextricable from the distraction they cause”  N. Carr (The Shallows: How The Internet Is Changing The Way We Think)

INTERUPTIONS

“A new mail announces its arrival as we’re reading a newspaper’s site. Our RSS reader tells us that one of our favorite bloggers has uploaded a new post. A moment after that, our mobile phone plays the ringtone that signals an incoming text message. Simultaneously, a Facebook or Twitter alert blinks on-screen”

N. Carr (The Shallows: How The Internet Is Changing The Way We Think)

 

“We are plunged into an ecosystem of interruption technologies”

Cory Doctorow

OUR EXPERIENCES READING ON DEVICES

“A few clicks and the text duly appears on the computer screen. I start reading but while the book is well-written and informative, I find it hard to concentrate. I scroll back and forth and search for key words, and interrupt myself even more often than usual to refill my coffee cup, check my email, check the news, rearrange files in my desk drawer. Eventually I get through the book and am glad to have done so. But a week later I find it hard to remember what I have read”

David Bell (Historian) when reading The Genesis of Napoleonic Propaganda” 

“Although mildly disorientated at first, I quickly adjusted the kindle’s screen and mastered the scroll and page-turn buttons. Nevertheless, my eyes were restless and jumped around as they do when I try to read for a sustained time on the computer. Distractions abounded. I looked up Dickens on Wikipedia, then jumped straight down the Internet rabbit hole following a link about a Dickens short story, ‘Mugby Junction’. Twenty minutes later I still hadn’t returned to my reading of Nickleby on the kindle”

Christine Rosen  (Ethics & Policy Center, Washington, DC) when trying to read Nicholas Nickleby on a kindle

MISCELLANEOUS

“Books are the quietest and most constant of friends; they are the most accessible and wisest of counselors, and the most patient of teachers”

Charles W. Eliot

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

