Takagi Masakatsu-Continuous Moving Paintings

Last week, while commuting to work, a colleague critiqued some of  my practice which were a few rotoscopes and my current project. Alienation & Conformity (2015)  involved a large amount of individual film frame texturing, he noticed that my practice was not too dissimilar from the Japanese film maker/musician, Takagi Masakatsu. Masakatsu is an artist who works in several mediums such as music, animation and video art. However, until last week, I’d only heard of him as a musician. Having done a bit of research, I learned that our art backgrounds and current practices have a few things in common. For instance, at university he studied film making as an extension to photography whereas I studied photography as an extension to film making/animation. Also, his work involves the old animation process, rotoscoping. A process which I first touched on 20 years ago but has been de facto in my practice over the past five years.

I was referenced Masakatsu’s live action film, Girls (2010). The artist is a frequent traveller, a great deal of his inspiration comes from memos and sketches while travelling around rural landscapes. Here, you can see the natural environment influences in his work. Like a lot of his projects, animated brushstrokes are carefully arranged during the process. The images swirl in a particular rhythm, creating a dreamlike narrative. I see his work as continuous moving paintings, an impressionist in the digital age. It’s a powerful and moving piece of work but for this film, it’s the haunting soundtrack the makes the work even more memorable. From this work, I feel that I need to pull my finger out and begin to experiment with other film software.

 

2 Replies to “Takagi Masakatsu-Continuous Moving Paintings”

  1. Hi Jason, Interesting video compared to yours. While they are both transformative I think this guys are much lighter in form and tone than yours. Maybe that has quite a lot to do with the music though…

    I’m very nearly finished and just focusing on the exhibition now. Will you be in the UK to see it?

    all the best

    Pete

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Pete! Thank you for your observation. Yes, I agree, lighter in form as opposed to the harshness I imply to my narratives, hence ‘Don’t Have Nightmares’.

      I’d love to go to the MA exhibition. However, as you know, I was in the UK earlier than usual last year for personal reasons so sadly I will miss the event as I finish my teaching program mid-July. I look forward to the critique that follows the exhibition and I hope to give my ‘two pence’ worth on the exhibits.

      I will be back in January next year. I really hope that we can meet in person as opposed to virtually in person!

      Hope all is well with you, your family and that the old soldier (Dad) is in good nick.
      J

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

