Motion Tween Abstractions (2015)

Inspired by experiments earlier this year from course peers – Yvonne Opalinski’s fragmented animation and Emily Skinner’s Vector Art, I thought it was time I too started experimenting more with the various functions and tools in the software. I’ve been using the Abobe Creative Cloud software for my rotoscope animations. A few months before I started the course, I briefly experimented with motion tweens.  I was fascinated by the smooth floating line trajectories. In Abstraction One, I can see similarities in shape, colour and line to Joan Miro’s work, especially Landscape (The Hare) 1928. landscape-the-hare[2]

A vast landscape engulfed in orange and red though my terrain is a sea of rapid, intertwined, linear movements. Abstract Two represents fragmented portraiture. Here, I’ve traced very minimally over a black & white photograph. Areas are then colour-filled, skin (white), hair (black), glasses (grey) and lips (red), using an icy blue stage background. I was curious to see how these would appear visually if both abstracts were merged. On first impression I thought all looked very musical (a Kandinsky abstract?). Still on a musical theme, I’ve punked it up a bit using a ‘Never Mind The Bollocks’ pink as the stage background colour. I’m pleased with having such a productive afternoon (just for once!) and I hope from these experiments I will become a little more audacious in my practice for future projects.

 

Abstract One 

 

 

 

Abstract Two

 

 

 

Abstracts Merged

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

