June & July 2015 Activity Summary

Posts= 8 

Skype chats: 5

Exhibitions: 1  Interim Show (UAL) 

Books:

Andrew Keene- The Internet Is Not The Answer

The Shallows- Nicholas Carp

 

Crematorium Days Out

It’s not been the greatest past few months in my life, a nightmare in fact. In June I had to leave my teaching program in Tokyo a few weeks earlier than usual due to my mother passing away. I was still heavily jet lagged when reading the eulogy speech on a particularly hot afternoon to a crowd of about 35 people. I reflected on that afternoon. I find crematoriums very eerie places, though very fascinating at the same time. The gardens all nicely manicured, appear peaceful and serene yet menacing black hearses silently glide to and from this superficial serenity with their decorative, baroque boxes ready to burn.

Dead Flowers

If one thunderbolt from hell wasn’t enough, another would be waiting for me on the horizon. In mid-July my father was called into hospital with a bowel complaint, nothing serious it was  presumed. In fact I visited him on the Sunday afternoon, he seemed very cheerful, just frustrated at not being able to get about and continue with his daily duties which he’s done for nearly 87 years.  Three days later I was called in to the hospital at 6:00 am. I entered his room  and there he was, head back, mouth ajar, fresh into his non-existence. His funeral will be on Friday, another day out at the crematorium, another hearse, another hot afternoon and another eulogy speech. What shall I say  to the mass this time?

The Course

Coming back home earlier than usual meant I could attend the Interim show. My only frustration was not being able to exhibit any work. Looking at everyone’s work gave me a few ideas how to audience my work in future. Stay clear of small rooms with stripped, crude tungsten lighting, I thought to myself. The following week we reviewed the exhibition. I enjoyed our last Skype chat, I would say that discussing others’ work has been the highlight of the Skype chats for me in the past year. It’s a pity that we don’t do it more often as opposed to philosophising about technologies which I have no interest in whatsoever.

Stills from Lonely Water (Jeff Grant, 1973) 

Acting & ExpressionComposition 3

Regarding my Research Paper, I’m still behind schedule but hopefully can make up for lost time next month. Jonathan and Gareth’s tutorials have helped me shape and structure the paper. Still, I find the researching so time-consuming. On the plus side, the paper is working in tandem with my next project, Don’t Have Nightmares 0.3: A Public Information Film. Filming commenced last week. From the footage, a few preliminary drawings should kick start my practice.  The show goes on.

 

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Monthly Summaries. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to June & July 2015 Activity Summary

  1. anomiepete says:

    The “like” doesn’t really fit with the response I wanted to make Jason. I’ve got nothing clever to say other than I read your post and felt connected. Mum went this time last year….

    I hope the summer gives you some solace.

    Like

  2. I agree with you, Pete about the ‘Like’ tab. The social media sites will have to devise tabs which are appropriate for the context. A ‘sympathy’ tab for instance. Anyway, thank you for your comment. I hope all is well with you and the family. J

    Like

Leave a Reply

