Sound Design: Confrontation 1

Last Saturday morning, just by sheer chance, I was able to record a  confrontational conversation between a bookshop assistant and a customer in London.  While I was browsing through a few books in the TV/Film area, I noticed a man (20s) sitting in the reading area talking to himself. He didn’t seem to be disturbing anyone nor did he come across as a violent person yet his language was becoming rather too loud and colourful which prompted an assistant to have a quiet word with him. Before the confrontation occurred, I turned on my Olympus Digital Voice Tracer, placed it discreetly under my shirt cuff and proceeded to walk towards the seating area just hoping to record a few mutterings . However, a shop assistant came down stairs into the basement area exactly at the same time, obviously tipped off by another customer. The exchange between the shop assistant and the customer can be heard from the original Mp3 recording below with written dialogue:

Bookshop Confrontation (2015)   Mp3

A= Assistant/ C= Customer

A “Dju know what I’m gonna say to you?”

C  “What?” (rising intonation, startled/surprised)

A “Dju know what I’m gonna say to you?”

C “What?” 

A “About yer language”

C “Yea”

A “What my gonna say about yer language?” ( attempting to elicit information)

C  “D’know”

A “You understand that I can’t let you be here if you’re gonna be using foul language, ok?”

C “Ok”

A “So if I have any more reports of that then, I’ll ask you to leave, ok?”

C “Yea”

A “Alright”

 

This morning I was experimenting with the recording in Audacity. Below are the steps taken when editing the recording, sound specifications and the edited version of the recording:

Step 1: Trim start (6secs)/end (5secs)

Step 2: Fade in start(3 secs) /Fade out end (8 secs)

Step 3: EFFECTS: Amplify (4.1)+Wahwah  “Dju know what I’m gonna say to you?” “What?”

Step 4: Cut “Dju know what I’m gonna sat you you?” -“What?”

Step 5: EFFECTS: Amplify (17.1)+ Reverb “About yer language?”  

Reverb Data: room size 75%, pre-delay 89, reverberance 84, damping 85%, tone low 86%, tone high 84%, wet gain 5, dry gain 6, stereo width 100%

Step 6: EFFECTS: Amplify (17.4) + Echo  “What my gonna say about yer language?”-“D’know”

Echo Data: delay time 1 second, delay factor 0.5

Step 7: EFFECTS: Amplify(15.3) + Phaser + Wahwah “You understand that I can’t let you be here if you’re gonna be using foul language, ok?”- “Ok”

Phaser Data: stages 2, wet/dry 210,LFO frequency 0.1,LFO start phase (deg) 0, depth 255, feedback 90%

Wahwah Data: LFO frequency 1.5,LFO start phase 0, depth 70%, resonance 5.0, wah frequency 30%

Step 8: EFFECTS: Amplify(14.8) + Delay “So if I get any more reports of that then, I’ll ask you to leave, ok?”-“Yea”-“Alright”

Delay Data: type: bouncing ball, delay level per echo -6, delay time -3, pitch change effect LQ pitch shift, pitch change per echo 0.00, number of echoes 5, allow duration to change: yes

Step 9: EFFECTS: Amplify (6.5) + Equalization (select curve: telephone) 3 seconds duration (start 18.1 secs-end)

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Sound and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

